Independent Book

My thoughts on the book ONE OF US IS NEXT by Karen M. McManus. I like the book because it is filled with mystery and suspense which keeps my attention. The book starts with a game of truths or dares by text. If you do not reply, it’s an automatic truth which led to Phoebe revealing that she slept with her sister’s boyfriend, and Maeve sharing that she dumped her boyfriend because he could not get it up.

There are several ideas in the book, some of them are dealing with alcohol and truth. After Phoebe’s truth was posted, Phoebe’s sister Emma started drinking heavily, which caused alcohol poisoning and her admission to the hospital. 

The character that I dislike in the book is Brandon. He hooked up with Phoebe and made fun of her when her truth came out, and he was the reason that her dad died.

 The prediction I have for the book is that they will figure out who started the game of truth or dare and end it, but it’s going to be someone close to one of the main three.

3 Replies to “Independent Book”

  1. I like the sounds of this book and I love how the start is suspenseful with drama included in it. This book I believe could also warn and show the dangers of Binge drinking and its relation to depression. Overall this book seems like a good read with an interesting plot and some really good characters.

  2. 25blarsonglover says: Reply

    This book sounds like lots of fun to read, I like that you talked about the revealing that phoebe slept with her sister boyfriend that seems like something that will catch someone’s eye. Some of my questions: Why was Brandon the reason that her dad died and what lead to this happening, is the truth or dare game like a game on a phone or is it like they stared playing at a party, and what happens if someone doesn’t say there truth after not answering? I also liked the picture that you put in it shows an example of what the reader can imagine.

  3. This sounds really intriguing, I might read it after I finish my book. I really liked how you told us the premises of the story and more than one character’s truth. Do you have any ideas on who could have started the game, or do you think its some random character you haven’t met yet?

Leave a Reply